Legs 11 in Throsby

The Australian Electoral Commission has revealed a total of 11 candidates have nominated for the seat of Throsby at next month’s federal election following the close of nominations this week.

The candidates are, in the order they will appear on the ballot paper, with their occupations as declared to the AEC:

  • May King, Palmer United Party, Writer
  • Peter Moran, The Greens, Administrative Officer
  • Larissa Mallinson, Liberal, Media Officer
  • John Kadwell, Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group), Retired Maths Teacher
  • Stephen Jones, Labor, Federal Member for Throsby
  • Brian Boulton, Democratic Labour Party, Educator
  • Glenn Turner, Katter’s Australian Party, Manager
  • Wayne Hartman, Non-Custodial Parents Party (Equal Parenting), Tradesperson
  • Paul Matters, Independent, Researcher
  • Gary Anderson, The Nationals, Entertainer
  • Elrond Veness, Bullet Train for Australia, Musician

Some stats/observations:
Of the 11 candidates: there are two women; three work in creative industries; two are in education; two already work in politics; three are standing for new parties.

Across the country, there are 1188 candidates contesting 150 seats in the House of Representatives, an average of nearly 8 candidates per seat.

In the Senate, there are 529 candidates across the country. 110 of those are in New South Wales, vying for just 6 seats. They are arranged in 45 groups.

For more election geek stats, see Antony Green’s blog. (And if you think 11 candidates is a lot, remember that one seat has 16 hopefuls!)

This entry was posted in 2013 Federal Election, Elections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply